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CAUSE NO. ___________________ 

 

GUIDE FOR AN INDEPENDENT EXECUTOR 

IN TARRANT COUNTY PROBATE COURT TWO 

 

_________________________ 

JUDGE BROOKE ALLEN 

Probate Court Two, Tarrant County, Texas 

100 West Weatherford, Room 150 

Fort Worth, Texas 76196 

817.884.415 
Associate Judge Lin Morrisett, Rm. 220A 

817.884.2794, 
Steve Fields, Court Administrator 

sfields@tarrantcounty.com 

817.884.1049 
 

 

WARNINGS 

As independent executor, you have a fiduciary duty to treat all beneficiaries 

and creditors fairly.  By law, throughout the entire process, you must be 

represented by an attorney who is licensed to practice law in Texas.  You 

should consult your attorney before taking any action as independent 

executor.  Your attorney MUST prepare and sign anything that is filed with 

the Court.  This guide does not replace the advice of your attorney.  Finally, 

please note that failure to file an inventory within 90 days of the day you 

qualify as executor will result in a fine of UP TO $1,000.00. (see p. 4) 

 

BASICS 

As independent executor, you must: 

 gather or collect the assets of the estate; 

 notify the beneficiaries of the estate; 

 notify the creditors of the decedent; 

 file an inventory with the Court; 

 file an affidavit or certificate that beneficiaries have been notified; 

 pay the debts of the decedent; 

 pay your attorney’s fees and other administrative expenses; and  

 distribute the remaining assets to the beneficiaries. 
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QUALIFYING TO SERVE  

Within 20 days of the date the Court signs an Order Admitting the Will to 

Probate and Appointing Independent Executor (305.003), you must: 

 file an Oath signed and sworn to in Court or before a notary; 

 file a Bond unless the appointing Order waives Bond; 

 file an Appointment of Resident Agent if you do not reside in 

TEXAS. 

The Court’s approval of the last of the required documents establishes your 

“Qualification Date”, from which the time on your duties starts to run. 

 

LETTERS TESTAMENTARY 

On or after your Qualification Date, you are entitled to obtain Letters 

Testamentary (306.001) from the Probate Clerk by calling 817-884-2840 or 

visiting the clerk’s office between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. in Room 

233 on the west end of the 2
nd

 Floor of the Historic County Courthouse at 

100 West Weatherford in Fort Worth.  Contact the clerk for the fee for these 

letters.  Letters Testamentary establish your authority to serve as 

independent executor of the estate.  Banks, brokers, real estate agents, etc., 

will often ask you for an original of your Letters Testamentary that has been 

certified within the past 60 days.  Some third parties will also want a 

certified copy of the Will.  Letters Testamentary and certified copies of 

Wills can be obtained from the clerk for a fee. 

 

NOTIFYING CREDITORS 

 General Published Notice.  Within one month of your Qualification 

Date you must publish a notice to creditors in a newspaper in the 

county (Commercial Recorder at 817-926-5351). 

 

 The notice is to include your Qualification Date, the address to which 

claims should be presented, and an instruction that claims either be 

addressed: (a) in care of the executor; (b) in care of the attorney; or (c) 

in care of the “representative, estate of _____.” (308.051) 

 

 Proof of Publication.  A copy of the printed notice, together with the 

affidavit of the publisher shall be filed with the Clerk (308.052).  
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 Comptroller’s Notice.  If the decedent remitted or should have 

remitted taxes administered by the comptroller of public accounts, you 

should send notice as above to the comptroller by certified mail 

(308.051). 

 

 Notice to Secured Creditors.  Within 2 months of your 

Qualification Date, you must give notice by certified mail, return 

receipt requested, to all creditors known to have a claim for money 

against the estate that is secured by real or personal property of the 

estate.  The contents of this notice are the same as mentioned above 

and proof of the service of this notice should also be filed with the 

Clerk (308.053). 

 

 Permissive Notice to Unsecured Creditors.  At any time before the 

estate is closed, you may give notice by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, to an unsecured creditor having a claim for money against 

the estate expressly stating that the creditor must present a claim 

within 4 months after the date of the receipt of the notice or the claim 

is barred.  The notice must include the items listed General Published 

Notice mentioned above (308.054). 

 

 Penalty for Failure to Notify Creditors.  If you fail to give the 

notices required above, other than the permissive notice, you and the 

sureties on your bond, are personally liable for any damage which any 

person suffers by reason of such neglect, unless it appears that such 

person had notice otherwise (308.056). 

 

 

NOTICE TO BENEFICIARIES   
Within 60 days of the date of the order admitting the will to probate, you, 

with the assistance of your attorney, must notify by certified mail, return 

receipt requested, all persons and entities named as beneficiaries in the Will.  

The notice must state the name and address of the beneficiary; the 

decedent’s name; that the decedent’s will has been admitted to probate; that 

the beneficiary to whom or for whom the notice is given is named as a 

beneficiary in the will; and the independent executor’s name and contact 

information.  A copy of the Will and the Order admitting the Will to Probate 

must be attached to this notice (308.003).  
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 In the alternative, each beneficiary may sign a waiver of this notice which 

should be filed with the clerk.   

 

 

AFFIDAVIT OR CERTIFICATE OF NOTICE 

Within 90 days of the date of the order admitting the will to probate, the 

independent executor must sign and file a sworn affidavit or a certificate 

signed by the attorney for the independent executor that states the name and 

address of each beneficiary notified of the probate by certified mail; the 

name and address of each beneficiary who filed a waiver of the notice; the 

name of each beneficiary whose identity or address could not be ascertained 

despite the independent executor’s exercise of reasonable diligence; and any 

other information necessary to explain the independent executor’s inability 

to give the notice to or for any beneficiary.  The affidavit or certificate may 

be included as part of the inventory, appraisement and list or claims, or 

included as part of an application for extension of time to file the inventory, 

appraisement and list of claims.   

 

 

INVENTORY* 

Within 90 days of your Qualification Date, you, with the assistance of your 

attorney, must file with the Court a sworn inventory, appraisement and list 

of claims (“Inventory”) of the estate.  Failure to file your Inventory timely 

could result in your removal as independent executor and a fine of up to 

$1,000.00 (309.057c).  Please ask your attorney to file for an extension if 

you are unable to file your Inventory on time.  Don’t depend on the 

court’s Show Cause Order as a reminder to file your Inventory.  Your 

Inventory must be prepared by and signed by your attorney, and must: 

 List all personal property of the estate wherever it is located with 

cash and investment account descriptions including the name and 

address of the bank or brokerage firm and at least the last four 

numbers of each account; 

 List all real property that is located in Texas; 

 List all property owned in common with others, including the fraction 

of the interest owned by the estate; 

 Specify what portion of the property, if any, is separate property and 

what portion of the property, if any, is community property; 

 List the fair market value of each item of property as of the 

decedent’s date of death; 
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 List all claims that the estate has against other parties including the 

name and address of the debtor; the nature of the claim; the initial 

date and the due date of the claim; the amount of the claim and its 

rate of interest; and whether the claim is separate or community;  

 Do not list the debts of the estate on your Inventory; 

 If your Inventory is not approved, file an amended inventory 

(309.054); 

*Affidavit in Lieu of Inventory – For decedents dying after September 1, 

2011, if there are no unpaid debts, except for secured debts, taxes and 

administration expenses, at the time the Inventory is due, including 

extensions, an independent executor may file, in lieu of the Inventory, within 

90 days of the Qualification Date, unless extended, an affidavit stating that 

all debts, except for secured debts, taxes, and administration expenses, are 

paid and that all beneficiaries have received a verified, full and detailed 

inventory (309.056).   

 

COLLECTING ASSETS 

An independent executor shall: 

 take care of the estate property as a prudent person would take of his 

or her own property and shall keep real property in good repair 

(351.101); 

 collect all personal property, record books, title papers, and other 

business papers of the estate (351.102); 

 keep estate funds in a separate designated account and not mix estate 

funds with the executor’s private funds; 

 use ordinary diligence to collect all claims and debts due the estate 

and to recover possession of all property of the estate provided there is 

a reasonable prospect of collecting such claims or recovering such 

property (351.151); 

 Seek court approval prior to entering into a contingency fee contract 

with an attorney that exceeds 33% of the property to be recovered 

(351.152). 

 

 

SELLING ASSETS 

Your power to sell assets of the estate should be addressed in the Will.  You 

should not sell any estate assets without first consulting your attorney.  

If the Will does not give you power to sell estate real property and such sale 

becomes necessary, your attorney must apply to sell real property under 
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Court order (356.251).  This is a multi-step procedure that requires posted 

notice for specified periods of time thus allowing beneficiaries the right to 

object to such sale.  Therefore, you should not enter into any contracts to sell 

real property without consulting your attorney and obtaining court 

permission if necessary. 

 

 

CLAIMS 

Please consult your attorney when you receive a claim or a claim is filed 

with the Clerk by a creditor.  Here are some general rules about claims: 

 

 Presentment.  Claims of creditors against the estate may be presented 

to you at any time before the estate is closed if the claim is not barred 

by the permissive notice mentioned above or by the general statute of 

limitations.  Claims may be secured or unsecured by estate assets. 

 

 Action on Claims.  Once you receive a claim or if a claim is filed 

with the Clerk, you should immediately contact your attorney because 

certain deadlines may apply for dealing with the claim.  Under certain 

circumstances, if a creditor files suit on a just claim that has been 

rejected, the court may find you to be personally liable for the cost of 

the suit and you may be removed as executor for failure to have 

properly acted on the claim. 

 

 Barred Claims.  Claims that are barred by the general statute of 

limitations should be rejected.  Claims of creditors to whom you sent 

the permissive notice described above are barred if they are not 

presented or filed within four months from the date the creditor 

received the notice.  These late claims should also be rejected.  

 

 Payment of Claims.  If the estate is insolvent, claims should not be 

paid until the estate has been open at least six months because claims 

have a certain priority of payment.  You should consult your attorney 

prior to paying any claims.  

 

 

TAXES 

You must consult with your attorney as to whether you must file any income 

tax, state inheritance tax or federal estate tax returns.  You may need to file 
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income tax returns for both the decedent and the estate.  Upon application 

from your attorney, the court will normally grant an extension of the 

Inventory filing date until the date the Federal Estate Tax is due.  All 

necessary tax returns must be filed prior to closing the estate.  You are also 

responsible for paying, out of estate funds, all real property taxes due on 

estate property.   

 

COMPENSATION 

As independent executor, your compensation is dictated by the provisions of 

the decedent’s will.  If the decedent’s will is silent on this issue, the law 

provides that you are entitled to five percent (5%) of the receipts and 

disbursements, with some exceptions (352.002).  Please consult your 

attorney as to the amount of compensation to which you are entitled.  The 

court does not approve the compensation of an independent executor unless 

it is contested by a beneficiary or creditor. 

 

CLOSING THE ESTATE 

The estate should generally remain open at least six months from your 

Qualification Date.  Once you have collected the assets of the estate, notified 

any creditors of the estate, filed the Inventory or Affidavit in Lieu of 

Inventory, and paid all legitimate claims, you should consult your attorney 

about distributing the remaining assets to the beneficiaries as directed in the 

Will.  Your attorney may want to prepare receipts to be signed by the 

beneficiaries stating that they have received their share of property from the 

estate.  These receipts may then be filed with the Clerk and attached to a 

Closing Report or a Notice of Closing of the Estate (405.004).  If you were 

required to file a Bond, the Closing Report (but not a Notice of Closing of 

the Estate) will operate to release the sureties on your Bond, and a certified 

copy should be sent to your bonding company.  Once the Closing Report or 

Notice of Closing Estate is filed, persons having claims against the estate 

must deal directly with the beneficiaries.  Many independent executors 

choose not to close the estate, however, in case more estate assets are located 

in the future.  However, some independent executors choose to file a Closing 

Report or Notice of Closing Estate to begin the running of the general statute 

of limitations.  Please consult your attorney as to what document, if any, 

should be filed in your case.   

 

 

 



 

 

*Numbers in parentheses are code section references to the Texas Estates Code 

8 

ATTORNEY ISSUES 

As independent executor, you are free to hire the attorney of your choice.  

Your attorney represents you as independent executor and does not represent 

the “estate.”  However, you have a fiduciary duty to treat all legitimate 

creditors and estate beneficiaries fairly, and your attorney should remind you 

of that duty.  The court does not review or approve attorney’s fees in an 

independent administration.  The court cannot resolve complaints that you 

may have against your attorney.  For those purposes, you may contact the 

State Bar of Texas at 1-800-932-1900.   


