Delayed Birth Certificate Research Guide

Overview

This research guide includes information and resources on delayed birth certificates. If a birth is not registered with Vital Statistics within a year of the birth, any subsequent registration is considered a delayed birth registration. There are different processes for children between 1-4 years of age, children between 4-15 years of age, and individuals over 15 years of age. (TX DSHS) The resources listed below are not exhaustive and may not include the most up-to-date information. It is for information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice or act substitute the for legal counsel. as

Related guides: Birth Certificates, Adult Name Change

Statutes and Codes

Texas Statutes Online <u>www.statutes.capitol.texas.gov</u>

Texas Administrative Code

• 25 Tex. Admin. Code § 181.60 Vital Statistics – Delayed Registration

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac\$ ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=25&pt=1&ch=18 1&sch=E&rl=Y

Texas Health and Safety Code

Ch. 192 Subchapter B. Delayed Registration
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/HS/htm/HS.192.htm#B

Secondary Resources in Print

Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated KFT 1230.5

 Health and Safety, Vol. 2, Ch. 192 Birth Records, Subchapter B. Delayed Registration §192.021 to §192.029

CLE Materials

Midwife Births, Delayed Birth Cerificates, and Federal Court Remedies for Refusal to Recognize One's United States Citizenship (2011 CLE) <u>https://utcle.org/ecourses/0C4203/get-asset-file/asset_id/24059</u>

Online Resources

Delayed Birth Registration (TX Dept. of State Health Services) <u>https://www.dshs.texas.gov/vital-</u> <u>statistics/birth-records/delayed-birth-registration</u>

Tarrant County Probate Clerks 817-884-1770

Legal Assistance

Legal Lines – Ask Attorneys simple legal questions (free service)

- Tarrant County LegalLine Sign-up <u>https://www.tarrantbar.org/</u>
- Dallas County LegalLine Sign-up <u>https://www.dallasbar.org/index.cfm?pg</u> <u>=legalline</u>

Tarrant County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service: 817-336-4101 (\$20 for the first 30 minutes)

