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HOW TO BETTER PREPARE FOR YOUR CASE 
 

An information packet on Pre-Trial Mediation for Debt Claim Cases in Justice Courts 
Ralph Swearingin, Jr. Justice Court, Pct.1 

Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
100 W. Weatherford St. RM 450, Fort Worth, Texas 76196-0242 

Phone: 817-884-1395 
Fax: 817-850-2342 

jp1court@tarrantcountytx.gov 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

This is general information only and is not intended as legal advice. The law can change 
from time to time, and there may be times when the information on this page is not current.  
Also see “Self-Help Legal Information Packet: When a Debt Claim Case Has Been Filed 
Against You” on this Court’s website. 
 
Resources regarding debt claim cases are also available from Texas Appleseed’s Debt 
Collection Toolkit, Lone Star Legal Aid, and Texas Law Help.  Rule 508 of the Texas Rules of 
Civil Procedure (T.R.C.P.) specifically deals with Debt Claim cases. 

In addition to Rule 508, you may also refer to Rules 500-507 of T.R.C.P. for other rules 
relating to the Justice Court. These Rules of Civil Procedure may be found on the Tarrant 
County website listed below: 
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/content/dam/main/justices-of-the-
peace/Documents/New_Rules_with_Index_9-25-14.pdf.  

None of this information is a substitute for advice from an attorney. The Justice Court 
Clerks are not allowed to give any legal advice. You are urged to review the applicable laws 
and to consult an attorney of your choice for further information or answers to specific 
legal questions. 

This information is organized as follows: 

• Section 1 – Justice Court – What It Is, What It Can Award, and Types of Cases It 
Handles 

• Section 2 - Debt Claim Cases – Typical Claims, Typical Defenses 
• Section 3 – Debt Claim Cases – Procedural Nuts & Bolts 
• Section 4 – Pre-Trial Mediation – What It Is, Different Options for Settlement 
• Section 5 – How to Prepare for Mediation 

https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/civil-cases/debt-claim-cases.html
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/civil-cases/debt-claim-cases.html
https://www.mydebtcollectionrights.org/
https://www.mydebtcollectionrights.org/
https://www.lonestarlegal.org/resource/consumer-debt-tool-a2j/
https://texaslawhelp.org/article/debt-collection
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/content/dam/main/justices-of-the-peace/Documents/New_Rules_with_Index_9-25-14.pdf
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/content/dam/main/justices-of-the-peace/Documents/New_Rules_with_Index_9-25-14.pdf
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Section 1 – Justice Court – What It Is, What It Can Award, and Types of Cases It 
Handles 

What is a Justice Court? 
A Justice Court is a court of law that Chapter 27 of the Texas Government Code defines 
having the right to hear and decide a case (called “jurisdiction”) over civil (non-criminal) 
matters in which the amount in controversy is not more than $20,000, before considering 
interest that can be imposed by statute. A Justice Court can hear the following cases: Small 
Claims, Debt Claims, Landlord/Tenant Disputes, Repair & Remedy, and similar minor civil 
cases not exceeding $20,000, again before considering statutory interest. If your claim or 
the damages you incurred exceeds $20,000, exclusive of statutory interest, you must 
consider filing suit in another court (County/District Court) with the assistance of an 
attorney. Most people who appear in Justice Courts do not have a lawyer and choose to 
represent themselves.  They are self-represented or pro se litigants. 

What does the Justice Court award? 
Justice Courts only have the power to award monetary compensation. For example, if your 
car does not get repaired the way you were promised, the Justice Court can only award the 
monetary damages you suffered because your car was not repaired the way it was 
promised. If you need a court order to make someone do something or stop doing 
something (called “injunctive” relief), other courts are available for this type of relief. 

What are some examples of cases heard in Justice Courts? 
Some examples of common types of disputes heard in Justice Court are: 

1. You moved out of your apartment and satisfied all the conditions in your lease, and 
you provided your forwarding address in writing to your landlord when you moved. 
Now, the landlord refuses to return your security deposit and will not provide you 
with an itemized statement of what was done with your deposit. 

2. You have your car repaired. After the car is returned to you, you discover that you 
have been charged for repairs that were not made. 

3. A credit card company has sued you to be paid the amount owing on your credit 
card account.  This is an example of a Debt Claim case. 

Now that you understand what the functions of the Justice Courts are, we will look more at 
Debt Claim cases. 
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Section 2 – Debt Claim Cases – Typical Claims, Typical Defenses 

What is a Debt Claim case? 
A debt claim case is a special kind of lawsuit filed in a Justice Court to recover money that is 
claimed to be owed. A debt claim case can be filed by:  

1. A bank or other financial institution, 
2. A debt collector or collection agency, 
3. A payday lender or credit card company or person or company whose business is 

lending money at interest,  
4. A merchant, or 
5. A person or company who bought debt or an unpaid credit account from another 

person or company (called “assigned debt”). 

Usually, a Debt Claim case is filed because a loan has not been repaid or because credit card 
debt has not been paid.  

The person or company who claims to be owed money and files the case is called the 
“Creditor” or “Plaintiff” and the person they file the case against is called the “Debtor” or 
“Defendant.” Texas Rules of Civil Procedure (T.R.C.P.) Rule 508.1.  If you have been named 
as a Defendant in a Debt Claim case, this does not mean that anyone has proven that 
you owe the debt. You are  the alleged debtor.  You will be referred to here as the 
“Defendant.” 

AT THIS POINT, IF YOU ARE THE DEFENDANT, YOUR LIABILITY FOR THE DEBT HAS 
NOT BEEN PROVEN, AND YOUR PRESENCE AT TRIAL OR MEDIATION WILL NOT BE 
INTERPRETED AS YOU ADMITTING TO LIABILITY FOR THE DEBT.  HOWEVER, IF YOU 
HAVE BEEN SERVED WITH A CITATION AND PETITION, YOU MUST FILE AN ANSWER 
WITHIN 14 DAYS OR YOU MAY END UP WITH A DEFAULT JUDGMENT AGAINST YOU. 

 

What are the typical causes of action used by Plaintiff-Creditors in Debt Claim cases? 
A cause of action is the legal claim that allows a party to seek judicial relief. A cause of 
action gives a plaintiff the legal right to seek a remedy because of a defendant’s act or 
omission, failure to perform duty, or failure to meet an obligation owed to the plaintiff.   
The following are commonly used terms that are useful to know in a Debt Claim case: 

1. Breach of Contract: This refers to failing to comply with terms or conditions in a 
binding contract. For instance, in a Debt Claim case, if one party fails to pay back a 
debt to the other as agreed, the other party can sue for failure to pay a debt. To 
prove a typical breach of contract claim, the following elements need to be satisfied: 

a)     the creditor must show that a valid contract existed; and 
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b)     the creditor lived up to their side of the agreement; and 
c)      the alleged debtor breached the agreement; and 
d)     the creditor experienced damages as a direct result. 

2. Account Stated:  An account stated is an agreement between two persons who have 
had previous transactions fixing the amount due in connection with such 
transactions and promising a payment. The following elements need to be satisfied:  

a)  transactions between parties gave rise to an indebtedness (a party owing 
money); and 

 b)  the parties expressly or impliedly agreed upon a fixed amount; and 
c)  the person being sued made a promise expressly or impliedly to pay the 
debt to the person owed.  

3. Open Account: An open account is an arrangement between a business and a 
customer, where the customer can buy goods and services on a deferred payment 
basis. The customer then pays the business at a later date. In this cause of action, the 
seller extends credit to the buyer to make purchases without a note or security and 
it is based on an evaluation of the buyer’s credit. The following elements need to be 
satisfied for an Open Account:  

a)  transactions between the parties; and 
b) creating a debtor-creditor relationship through a general course of 
dealings; and 
c) with the account still open; and  
d) with the expectation of further dealings.  

 

What defenses do Defendants have in Debt Claim cases? 
Defenses are legal arguments that a Defendant (the alleged debtor in this situation) may 
bring up to challenge the Plaintiff’s arguments and accusations.  Every debt-related case is 
unique, and if you are the Defendant, it is important that your defense strategy is tailored to 
your case, needs, goals, and rights. However, these are the most common defenses to Debt 
Claim cases: 

1. Statute of Limitations: The creditor’s lawsuit must have been filed within 4 years 
from the date of: your last payment; or your last promise to pay on the debt; or your 
last action on the account; or a charge-off date; or any such last activity on your 
account. Even if you owe the debt, you can still challenge it if it is over 4 years from 
your last payment or promise to pay by stating that the statute of limitations has 
run, and the Plaintiff can no longer bring the action.  Texas Civil Practice and 
Remedies Code § 16.004(a)(3). 

2. Laches: If you believe that the creditor has waited an unreasonably long time to file 
this lawsuit, you can bring the defense of laches by stating that the delay has made it 
difficult for you to defend this lawsuit. The amount of delay depends on the facts of 
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each case. If the creditor has a good reason for the delay, this defense may not 
prevail.  Texas Rules of Civil Procedure (T.R.C.P.) Rule 94. 

3. Mistaken Identity/Identity Theft: Mistaken identity happens when you are 
confused with someone else. Sometimes it is as simple as an incorrect name, 
address, or confused account number. Identity theft, on the other hand, happens 
when someone steals your personal and identifying information and uses it to open 
lines of credit or make purchases. In either case, the burden is on the creditor to 
prove that you (the alleged debtor) authorized each transaction that caused you to 
incur the debt. 

4. Lack of Assignment: Some debt collection agencies are “debt buyers.” In other 
words, they buy your original creditor’s rights to pursue you for payment of your 
debt. If you are dealing with a lawsuit from a debt buyer, you can force them prove 
that they actually “own” your debt. If they can’t do so, then their lawsuit may be 
dismissed. 

5. Bankruptcy: If you have been sued by a creditor or debt collector but have 
previously declared bankruptcy, then the debt you are being sued for may no longer 
be legally collectible. Once you file for bankruptcy, all debt collection activities 
against you may be stopped. Furthermore, if a debt was discharged during 
bankruptcy but you are being sued after the fact, you can use it as a defense against 
the lawsuit. 

6.  Dispute the Amount of Debt: You have the right to this defense if you believe the 
amount of the debt claimed against you is incorrect. The creditor has the burden of 
proving that you owe the amount listed in the debt collection suit. The creditor 
needs to produce evidence that the stated amount is correct. Evidence could include 
the original contract, bill of sale, etc. As the Defendant, be sure to bring in 
appropriate evidence if you are going to challenge the debt claim. This may include 
payment receipts, financial statements, the original contract, emails or other 
correspondence. 

7. Failure to Mitigate Damages: This defense is usually raised to prevent Plaintiff 
from recovering damages that they could have avoided through reasonable efforts. 
For instance, in a Debt Claim case, the Defendant can claim that the creditor refused 
to accept a reasonable full settlement offered by the Defendant and that this refusal 
of reasonable settlement has resulted in the Defendant incurring additional interest, 
attorney fees, and court costs unnecessarily. The Defendant may state that the 
creditor has failed to take reasonable steps to reduce or minimize the damages 
experienced.   

8. Lack of Privity/Authorized User: As a Defendant, you may state that there was 
never a contractual relationship or agreement in the first place between you and the 
creditor. For instance, if you were an authorized user on someone else’s credit card 
but never became a co-signer (in other words, you never agreed to share financial 
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liability for the card), then you may use that fact to your advantage when faced with 
a lawsuit from the credit card company. Only if you signed an agreement to share 
responsibility for the credit card can you be held liable for any debt incurred. 

9. Fraud: Fraud consists of some deceitful practice or willful device that is resorted to 
by an individual with the intent to deprive another individual of his right, or in some 
manner to injure them. This defense is typically raised when the Defendant has 
suffered an injury due to a fraudulent activity by the other party in a lawsuit. For 
instance, if a Defendant is sued by a debt collector or a debt collection agent acting 
on the creditor’s behalf for a fraudulent debt, the Defendant has a defense against 
the creditor’s lawsuit. 
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Section 3 – Debt Claim Cases – Procedural Nuts & Bolts 

Where can a Debt Claim case be filed? 
The location where the creditor filed their claim is called the venue; however, claims must 
be filed by the creditor in the correct venue. A debt claim suit should be filed in one of the 
following venues: 

1. the county and precinct where the Defendant lives; 
2. the county and precinct where the incident, or the majority of incidents, that 

gave rise to the claim occurred; 
3. the county and precinct where the contract or agreement, if any, that gave rise to 

the claim was to be performed; or 
4. the county and precinct where the property is located, in a suit to recover 

personal property. Texas Rules of Civil Procedure (T.R.C.P.) Rule 502.4. 

 

How does a Debt Claim case get filed? 
As described in Section 2, the “Plaintiff” is the party that files the suit. In Debt Claim cases, 
the plaintiff is the creditor. The creditor must state the nature of their claim on petition 
(described in more detail below). They must also provide the correct amount they intend to 
claim in monetary damages. The claim cannot be for more than $20,000 in damages, 
excluding statutory interest and court costs, but including attorney’s fees, if any. The 
creditor must also provide a brief statement, explaining plainly the basis of their claim. 
Lastly, the creditor must provide the complete names and addresses of each person or 
business their claim is against. The alleged debtor is known as the “Defendant.” 

As described in Section 2, to recover on a Debt Claim suit, the claim must be filed within 
four years of the cause of action. By law, lawsuits must be filed within a correct time period. 
This time period is called the statute of limitations. The statute of limitations for filing a 
debt claim suit is four years from the date the incident occurred. Typically, the statute of 
limitations starts ticking on the date of the last activity on your account. This can be the 
date the alleged debtor last made a payment, but it can also be the date the account was last 
used, the date the debtor made a promise to pay, the date a payment was made, the date 
the debtor entered into a payment agreement, the date the account was charged off by the 
original creditor, or even the date the debtor acknowledged the debt. 

In many courts, cases are filed electronically through the state’s electronic filing system 
known as E-file. Texas has prioritized filing documents electronically, so all parties – both 
Plaintiffs and Defendants - should get acquainted with using E-File Texas and provide 
updated e-mail addresses so that the Court and all parties are made aware of 
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communication between them. Justice Court 1 has helpful information on E-File Texas on 
its Website at: https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-
1/e-filing.html?linklocation=FILE%20YOUR%20CASE%20ONLINE&linkname=%3C     

 
How does the Creditor start a Debt Claim case? 
To start a Debt Claim case, the Creditor must file a petition with the court. A petition is a 
formal written request to the court, seeking a legal ruling.  A petition must contain: 

1. the name of the creditor; 
2. the name, address, telephone number, and fax number, if any, of the creditor and his 

attorney, if applicable 
3. the name, address, and telephone number, if known, of the Defendant; 
4. the amount of money, if any, the creditor seeks; 
5. a description and claimed value of any personal property the creditor seeks; 
6. a description of any other relief requested; 
7. the basis for the creditor’s claim against the Defendant; and 
8. a statement consenting to email service and email contact information if the creditor 

consents to email service of the answer and any other motions or pleadings. T.R.C.P. 
Rule 502. 

In addition to the information required by Rule 502.2, a petition filed in a lawsuit governed 
by Rule 508 (for Debt Claim cases) must contain the following information: 

1. Credit Accounts. If the claim is based upon a credit card, revolving credit, or open 
account, the petition must state: 

a) the account or card name; 
b) the account number (which may be masked); 
c) the date of issue or origination of the account, if known; 
d) the date of charge-off or breach of the account, if known; 
e) the amount owed as of a certain date; and 
f) whether the creditor seeks ongoing interest. 

2. Personal and Business Loans. If a claim is based upon a promissory note or other 
promise to pay a specific amount as of a certain date, the petition must state: 

a) the date and amount of the original loan; 
b) whether the repayment of the debt was accelerated, if known; 
c) the date final payment was due; 
d) the amount due as of the final payment date; 
e) the amount owed as of a certain date; and 
f) whether the creditor seeks ongoing interest. 

3. Ongoing Interest. If a creditor seeks ongoing interest, the petition must state: 

https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/e-filing.html?linklocation=FILE%20YOUR%20CASE%20ONLINE&linkname=%3C
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/e-filing.html?linklocation=FILE%20YOUR%20CASE%20ONLINE&linkname=%3C
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a) the effective interest rate claimed; 
b) whether the interest rate is based upon contract or statute; and 
c) the dollar amount of interest claimed as of a certain date. 

4. Assigned Debt. Assigned debt is when the original creditor transfers/sells a debt, 
and all the rights and obligations associated with it, to a third party. If the claim is 
based on debt that was assigned or transferred, the petition must state: 

a) that the debt claim has been transferred or assigned; 
b) the date of the transfer or assignment; 
c) the name of any prior holders of the debt; and 
d) the name or a description of the original creditor. 

 

Who pays to file a Debt Claim lawsuit? 
A creditor is required to pay the Court costs when they file their petition. If you are the 
creditor and you are unable to afford to pay the court costs, you must file a Statement of 
Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs. This Statement must either be sworn to 
before a notary or made under penalty of perjury. Please use the following link to access an 
Example Form: https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-
1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a 

When the creditor files their lawsuit, the Defendant must be served with a citation and 
copy of the petition. A citation is an official process document by which a Defendant is 
notified in writing he is being sued. The creditor must properly serve the Defendant, so that 
he has proper notice of this suit. Please refer to Rule 500.8(d) of T.R.C.P. 

 

What happens after the Creditor has filed their Debt Claim lawsuit? 
When the case has been filed and the filing fee has been paid, the clerk will issue a citation 
and deliver it to the Defendant as directed by the creditor. A citation is an official process 
by which a Defendant is notified in writing why he is being sued. The citation is always 
accompanied by a copy of the petition when it is served upon the Defendant. T.R.C.P. Rule 
501.1. 

The citation provides notice to the Defendant(s) of an opportunity to: 1) Answer, 2) 
Appear, and 3) Defend the suit. When there are multiple Defendants in the lawsuit, a 
citation must be issued for each Defendant.  The creditor cannot recover anything unless a 
citation has been served upon the person or entity the creditor is suing. 

https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a
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If you are the creditor, once your case is accepted, you will receive a confirmation e-mail 
from E-File showing your case number. To periodically determine the progress of your 
case, refer to your case number. The Court will add your e-mail address to their records. 
Please note that your e-mail address will be your main point of contact, and all 
correspondence from the Court will be sent there to keep in contact with the court and not 
miss out on any important information that is sent to you by the Court. It is advisable that 
you add the jp1court@tarrantcountytx.gov email to your contacts. 

 

What happens when the Defendant gets served with a Citation? 
The court, not the creditor, issues the citation. If you are the Defendant, this tells you that 
you are being sued and your presence is required in Court. The petition was created by the 
creditor, and it will provide details of why you are being sued and how much money you 
are being sued for. 

Once you are served with the citation, you have 14 days to file your Answer, which is a 
response to the lawsuit filed by the creditor.  There is more detail below regarding the 
Answer.  Your response can either be an agreement to the claims made by the creditor in 
the lawsuit (which means that you agree to the amount requested by the creditor) or a 
denial of the suit (which means you would like to proceed with pre-trial mediation and 
potentially, a trial). As the Defendant, you must give your Answer to the Court and send a 
copy of your Answer to the creditor. 

You must file your Answer before the deadline!  If you do not file your Answer within 
14 days, you are legally admitting the creditor’s claim, and the court may issue a default 
judgment against you after hearing the Plaintiff’s testimony and receiving supporting 
documents.  You will get no further notice.  You will owe money to the creditor, without 
having a day in court.  

You may also file a Counterclaim with the Court. A counterclaim is a lawsuit filed by the 
Defendant against the creditor within the original case. You may file a petition stating a 
counterclaim against a creditor that is within the jurisdiction of the justice court, related to 
the claims in the creditor’s petition. If you file a counterclaim petition, you must pay a filing 
fee or provide a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs. This Statement 
must either be sworn to before a notary or made under penalty of perjury. Please use the 
following link to access an Example Form: https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-
the-peace-courts/justice-
1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a.  The court does 
not need to generate a citation for a counterclaim and the creditor does not need to file an 
answer to the counterclaim. T.R.C.P. Rule 502.6. 

https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/en/justice-of-the-peace-courts/justice-1/forms.html?linklocation=Inquire%20About...&linkname=Forms%3C/a
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What is an Answer and how does the Defendant file it? 
If you are the Defendant, the Answer is your first response to the lawsuit. Your Answer is a 
written response to the Court, and it must be filed electronically through Email, E-File, or 
Fax. You can also bring it to the Court, where one of our Clerks can scan your Answer and 
assist in processing your Answer electronically. The Answer needs to be addressed to the 
court and must state that you do or do not agree with the claims being made in the lawsuit. 
You are also required to send a copy of the Answer you file to the person who signed the 
lawsuit against you and keep a copy for yourself. An Answer must contain the following 
information: 

1. your full name; 
2. your contact information, which may include your physical address, telephone 

number, e-mail, or fax number; and 
3. contact information of your attorney, if applicable 

You may download a Default Answer Form and fill in your information by using the 
following link: https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/content/dam/main/justices-of-the-
peace/JP1/forms/Answer%20-
%20SC,%20DC%20and%20Repair%20and%20Remedy.pdf. 

After you have filed your Answer, you will receive a confirmation e-mail from E-File 
showing your case number. To periodically determine the progress of your case, refer to 
your case number. The Court will add your e-mail address to their records. Please note that 
your e-mail address will be your main point of contact, and all correspondence from the 
Court will be sent there to keep in contact with the court and not miss out on any important 
information that is sent to you by the Court. It is advisable that you add the 
jp1court@tarrantcountytx.gov email to your contacts. 

Your Answer can state either your denial or acceptance of what is in the creditor’s petition. 
If you deny the creditor’s claim, you don’t have to get specific as to the reasons you think 
you don’t owe the creditor the amount of money they asked for in the petition. You can say 
something like “I deny the claim and want to see proof at trial” or “I don’t owe the creditor 
anything.” If you agree you owe the creditor all of what they are asking for, they may get a 
judgment against you for that amount without having a trial. T.R.C.P. Rule 502.5.  If you only 
disagree with part of the petition or if you agree that you owe the money but cannot afford 
to pay all of it or pay it now, that would be a great reason to try reaching a compromise in 
Pre-Trial Mediation. 

 
 

https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/content/dam/main/justices-of-the-peace/JP1/forms/Answer%20-%20SC,%20DC%20and%20Repair%20and%20Remedy.pdf
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/content/dam/main/justices-of-the-peace/JP1/forms/Answer%20-%20SC,%20DC%20and%20Repair%20and%20Remedy.pdf
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/content/dam/main/justices-of-the-peace/JP1/forms/Answer%20-%20SC,%20DC%20and%20Repair%20and%20Remedy.pdf
https://www.tarrantcountytx.gov/content/dam/main/justices-of-the-peace/JP1/forms/Answer%20-%20SC,%20DC%20and%20Repair%20and%20Remedy.pdf
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What if the Defendant doesn’t answer? 
If you fail to file an Answer within the legally required time period (14 days), then legally 
you are not denying the creditor’s claim. If you fail to provide your Answer, the creditor can 
now request a hearing to discuss evidence and facts. The Court, upon a hearing, and relying 
on the Plaintiff’s testimony and supporting documents submitted as evidence, may issue a 
Default Judgment against you, without any further notice. A Default Judgment cannot be 
entered against you if you file an Answer or otherwise appear in the case! T.R.C.P. Rule 
508.3. 

 

What happens after the Defendant files an Answer? 
In most Courts, you will receive a notice from the Court notifying you of a trial date. 
However, unlike other courts, in this Court, if you timely answer the suit, the Court may 
choose to set the case for a Pre-Trial Mediation (PTM) and will notify all the parties of the 
date by e-mail. You must appear at the PTM.  Both the creditor and the Defendant have the 
right to be represented by an attorney; this does not mean an attorney will be appointed to 
you, nor does it mean that you are required to be represented by an attorney. 
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Section 4 – Pre-Trial Mediation – What It Is, Different Options for Settlement 

What happens when you receive a Notice of Pre-Trial Mediation (PTM)? 
After receiving the Answer, this Court will likely set the case for Pre-Trial Mediation (PTM). 
The Court generally believes that all parties benefit from Pre-Trial Mediation, which serves 
as their last chance to settle their case before Trial. If you are the Defendant and disagree 
with only a part of the petition or if you agree that you owe the money but cannot afford to 
pay all of it or pay it now, that would be a great reason to try reaching a compromise in Pre-
Trial Mediation, which is described in detail below. 

The Pre-Trial Notice informs you to appear in person in the Justice Court, and you must 
appear as required by the Pre-Trial Notice.  If you are the creditor and do not appear for 
Pre-Trial Mediation, the Court may dismiss your case. If you are the Defendant and do not 
appear for Pre-Trial Mediation, the Court may enter a default judgment against you after 
hearing Plaintiff’s testimony and supporting documents submitted as evidence.  This will 
happen without any further notice to you.  

Creditors and Defendants appearing at PTM must have the authority to negotiate and settle 
this case; otherwise, the case may be dismissed, or a default judgment may be rendered.  

 

What happens in the Court before the Pre-Trial Mediation (PTM)? 
All parties must be dressed appropriately and arrive at least 30 minutes before the 
proceeding is scheduled to begin. When you arrive, please have your case number ready to 
check in with the Court Clerk, and then take a seat in the courtroom. Once in the courtroom, 
the Judge will explain to you why you have been called to appear in Court. The Judge will 
explain what mediation is and its intended outcomes. Usually, the court will go through a 
“docket call.” Answer when your case is called. You will then be required to approach the 
Bench, where the Judge will ask if you are willing to mediate your Debt Claim dispute in the 
presence of an attorney mediator. Please understand that Pre-Trial Mediation is usually the 
last opportunity for both parties to settle their dispute without appearing for a Trial before 
the court. 

 

What is Mediation? 
Mediation is a process that provides parties to a suit with an opportunity to reach their 
own settlement agreement, one that is mutually acceptable to both parties. In this process, 
an attorney mediator works as a third-party neutral with both sides to guide the mediation 
process and to assist both sides to negotiate an agreement that is acceptable to them. It is 
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the policy of this state to encourage the peaceable resolution of disputes and the early 
settlement of pending litigation through voluntary settlement procedures. It is the 
responsibility of all trial and appellate courts and their court administrators to carry out 
the policy. (Tx. Civil Practice and Remedies Code, Ch. 154.002-003). 

The Mediator’s function is to help the parties communicate effectively with each other, help 
the parties understand the options for resolving all issues in the case, and assist the parties’ 
negotiations to try to reach an agreement that will settle the entire case. Mediation allows 
both parties to reach their own agreement on terms that will work for them. For instance, if 
a debt is owed, the Defendant and creditor can agree on the amount to be paid and 
structure a payment plan that is agreeable to both sides.  In a Trial, only a money judgment 
may be awarded without any possible payment plans. 

Unlike the traditional courtroom trial or hearing before a Judge, where one party wins and 
the other loses, mediation allows both sides an opportunity to reach a mutual agreement 
and the terms that will work for them. Moreover, it is important to remind yourselves that 
oftentimes in Trials, both parties may not be happy with the outcome, and each side leaves 
the Trial feeling like the loser. Unlike Trial, Pre-Trial Mediation allows you the opportunity 
to settle your dispute on mutually agreeable terms.  

 

What is the cost of Mediation? 
As stated in the Pre-Trial Mediation letter that you receive, the cost of mediation is $60 per 
side, which is payable directly to the mediator. The payment can be made in the form of 
cash, money order, electronic payment, or any other means acceptable to the mediator for 
the mediation session. If you are facing financial hardship or any other difficulty that might 
make it difficult for you to pay the mediation fees, you can discuss this when you meet with 
the mediator.  

 

How does the Mediation process work in general? 
After you agree to mediate your case with the mediator, the bailiff will assign your case to 
an attorney mediator who will be in the courtroom. The mediator will help you to 
communicate with the other parties. Communication is the key to solving problems, and 
mediation works as the perfect opportunity for you to solve these problems with the help 
of a trained and experienced attorney mediator. The Mediator will hear from both sides 
and try to help you all come to a middle ground by facilitating communication of your 
positions and needs to each other. 
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How does the Mediation process begin and what are some key rules? 
The Mediation process begins with the Mediator discussing with you the elements of the 
Pre-Trial Mediation Agreement. The parties to mediation are bound by the Rules of 
Mediation in Chapter 154 of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code, which states the 
following: 

1. Confidentiality – Confidentiality is a legal term that refers to the duty of an 
individual to avoid sharing confidential information with others without the 
express consent of the other party. All communications in the mediation 
between parties and between each party and the mediator are confidential. No 
shared information will be given to the other party unless the party sharing the 
information explicitly gives the mediator permission to do so. However, not 
everything shall be considered confidential during the mediation. Some 
exceptions to confidentiality include: (1) criminal conduct or threatening to 
commit a crime; (2) any matter disclosed in discovery; and (3) any matter 
relating to evidence of child or elder abuse. 

2. Negotiation in Good Faith – The parties are requested to mediate in good faith 
by using their best efforts to settle this case and treating each other with 
courtesy and respect. 

3.  Non-Binding Agreement – The mediation process does not become binding on 
the parties until the parties sign a Written Settlement Agreement, which may 
include a Judgment, Agreed Judgment, or Dismissal. Your Judgment/Agreed 
Judgment could likely include a Payment Plan or other agreed upon means. 

 

Who will be the Mediator? 
It is important to understand that the mediator neither knows the parties nor the facts of 
the case in advance. The mediator is assigned the case for mediation randomly after the 
Judge calls the cases one by one. The mediator is not a legal advisor and cannot provide any 
legal advice to the parties during the mediation. The mediator will ask you for the $60 
payment either at the beginning or end of the mediation. 

 

What happens after the Mediator explains the process? 
After the mediator has completed explaining the mediation process, he will ask each party 
to provide a brief summary of their case and state their claims or defenses. Now, each party 
has the opportunity to let the mediator know about their dispute, so that the mediator has 
complete information about the case. You may discuss your case freely during mediation 
and you may share evidence. After both parties have had the opportunity to explain their 
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claims or defenses, the mediator will then choose to talk to the parties privately or jointly, 
depending on the case, to come to a resolution. 

A private meeting with the mediator allows the disputing parties to take some time away 
from the joint session so that they might confer with their advisor and/or the mediator to 
clarify the issues, reflect on long-term and short-term goals, review options and proposals, 
gain new facts, develop new agreement/settlement offers, allow for emotional venting, and 
confirm decisions. The mediator can take your options and present them to the other party 
to see if they are willing to settle. The mediator will continue to do this until both parties 
come to a middle ground, or otherwise reach a final resolution. Unlike a Trial, the parties 
can discuss the Defendant’s options for a settlement including a payment amount and a 
timeline for the payments in mediation. If relevant, the Defendant can also raise defenses to 
the claim. These are arguments the Defendant might have against the claim, whether there 
is an essential element missing from the claim, a mistake, or a procedural issue. 

 

What happens if the parties reach an agreement in Mediation? 
If you reach an agreement during mediation, the terms of the agreement will be reduced to 
writing, and the mediator will request the parties to sign the Settlement Agreement and a 
Form for Final Disposition. The Final Disposition makes it clear whether the parties have 
settled for an Agreed Judgment or Agreed Dismissal.  

If the parties have settled for an Agreed Judgment, the Mediator will also request the 
parties to sign a Release of Judgment Form, which states that the creditor agrees to submit 
and inform the Court once the terms of the Settlement Agreement have been met. Upon the 
Judge’s signature, the terms of the Settlement Agreement will become binding as an Agreed 
Judgment. If one of the parties does not follow the terms of an Agreed Judgment, the other 
party can return to Court and ask the court to enforce the Judgment that was agreed upon.  

The Mediator will give both parties a copy of the above-signed documents.    

 

What are the different ways to write up the agreements reached in mediation? 
The following options are available after there is an agreement formed during the 
mediation: 

1. Agreed Judgment to Pay: Here, the Defendant agrees to pay creditor the amount 
agreed upon during the mediation which may include the Court Costs and 
Interest compounded annually from the date of judgment as a full and final 
settlement. 
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2.  Agreed Judgment to Pay with an Optional Payment Plan Provision: This 
option is similar to an Agreed Judgment to Pay. However, the only difference is 
that the parties agree that the Defendant will pay the amount as part of a 
payment plan (monthly/weekly) until the debt is paid in full. The parties decide 
the date by which the payments must be received by the creditor. Failure to 
comply with the Settlement Agreement Payment Plan Provisions will allow the 
creditor to seek any Post Judgment Remedies. 

3. Agreed Judgment to Pay with an Option to Perform: Similar to an Agreed 
Judgment to Pay, the parties also get an additional option to perform an activity, 
if the payment does not work out. Although this option is rarely one that occurs, 
it is an option that could be discussed between the parties in the presence of the 
mediator.  

4. Agreed Dismissal: The parties mutually agree to dismiss the case, including all 
claims, be it the original claim, counterclaim, or crossclaim made, or which could 
have been made in this case. The creditor must submit the settlement documents 
by a specific date and time to the court and parties should know that failure to 
do so will result in the dismissal of the case. 

5. Reset Mediation: Here, the Mediation will be reset to another day and time due 
to various reasons. However, this will be allowed only if the parties provide a 
justifiable reason for the reset of mediation.   

 

What happens if the parties do not reach an agreement in Mediation? 
If you cannot come to a resolution during Mediation, the mediator will notify the Court that 
the case was not settled and that the case should be set for trial at the earliest available 
date. 

 

What happens after the Mediation is over? 
After the parties agree to settle, the mediator shall request the parties to sign the 
Settlement Agreement and Form for Final Disposition. The Final Disposition makes it clear 
whether the parties have settled for an Agreed Judgment or Agreed Dismissal. The 
Mediator will also request that the parties to sign a Release of Judgment Form, which states 
that the creditor agrees to submit and inform the Court once the Terms of the Settlement 
Agreement have been met. Both parties will be given a copy of the above-signed documents 
by the mediator. If both parties sign a Settlement Agreement, the terms of that agreement 
will be binding. 

  



18 
 

The Court’s interest in parties’ feedback on Pre-Trial Mediation 
After the parties have concluded their Pre-Trial Mediation, the mediator will provide an 
evaluation survey consisting of a few questions regarding the mediation process. The 
survey helps the Court understand if you are satisfied with the mediation process or if 
there are any improvements to be made. It would be appreciated if you take the time to 
answer the questions.    
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Section 5 – How to Prepare for Mediation 

How should the Creditor prepare for Mediation?  
Items to bring: 

• All evidence that proves the items required by the petition  
• Bill of sale and related supporting documentation  
• Affidavits of the Account 
• All details pertaining to the credit account 
• Checklist of assignment of the debt including all relevant dates and proof of 

debt transfer 
• Evidence proving the amount of debt owed  
• Documents outlining payments made on the account 
• Documents to counter defenses potentially brought up by the Defendant  

How should the Defendant prepare for Mediation?  
Potential defenses described in Section 2 (listed here roughly in the order of 
most common to least common)  

• Statute of limitations 
• Lack of assignment  
• Dispute the amount of debt  
• Mistaken identity/Identity theft  
• Lack of privity/Authorized user  
• Fraud  
• Laches 
• Failure to mitigate damages  
• Bankruptcy  

Items to bring:  
• Documents that could help you prove a defense (such as proof of identity 

theft or that more than four years have passed since the last activity on your 
account)  

• Documents that show payment history  
• Documents that might call into question any part of the creditor’s petition 

(such as proof of your most recent payment or proof that you objected to a 
charge, if there is evidence different from what is shown in the petition) 

• Evidence of Financial Hardship and documents to support the reason for that 
hardship 

• Proof that you have been in contact with the creditor and are already in 
settlement negotiations.  

 


